“Going Dark”

going-dark1While I was bored the other day, I came across The Week in Pictures on the MSNBC website. After staring at some quite amazing photography, I came across one that was certainly special to me. “Going Dark” by Leon Neal is a photograph showing London shutting down its Parliament buildings and the famous, Big  Ben for one hour to celebrate the “Earth Hour.” This earth hour, which began in Sydney Australia, was the opportunity for all of those around the globe to partake in a huge effort to conserve energy. It is most evident when even the most notable of buildings in cities shut down (like Big Ben!) Not only is this an incredible photograph because of its use of a slow shutter speed and the sharp contrast of the bright lights and the dark building, but I appreciate this photograph so much more for personal reasons. This past summer, I studied in London for six weeks. During my time there I took a British Parliament course in which we went to Parliament every day, meeting with Members of Parliament (MPs) and sitting in on both committee meetings and the House of Commons and Lords. It was such an incredible experience, and it was even better to be reminded of those memories when I came across Mr. Neal’s photograph.

~ by hdarazs on April 6, 2009.

5 Responses to ““Going Dark””

  1. Great post! I read up on this about a week ago and heard that several famous building in many countries would go dark for Earth Hour. I thought it would be something amazing to see so I’m glad you posted such a great photograph of the event!

  2. […] on Class Blogs: Heather, Katie, and Tyler. […]

  3. Glad you like it! 🙂

    • Thank you for your comment!! It’s a wonderful photograph that certainly made me nostalgic about my time in London! I miss it so much and can’t wait to go back again soon. Also, I just reviewed your blog – you are an amazing photographer! Best of luck with your future endeavors! – Heather Darazs

  4. Cheers Heather. Hope your assignment goes well and I look forward to seeing the results on your blog soon!

Leave a Reply

 
